Stan Ahalt
Staff Title: Director
Email: ahalt@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9641

Expertise: high performance computing, data intensive computing, data systems, signal processing, electrical and computer engineering
Jay Aikat
Staff Title: Chief Operating Officer
Email: aikat@cs.unc.edu
Phone: 919.590.6178

Biography
Expertise: Networking, Traffic Measurement and Experimentation, Cloud Computing, Security
Marcus Anderson
Staff Title: Visual Arts Specialist
Email: marcussamie86@renci.org
Phone: 9199625505

Kristi Andrews
Staff Title: Senior Accountant / Business Lead
Email: kandrews@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9674

Ilya Baldin
Staff Title: Director, Network Research & Infrastructure
Email: ibaldin@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9685

Expertise: advanced networking, network infrastructure as a service
Jim Balhoff
Staff Title: Senior Research Scientist
Email: balhoff@renci.org

Expertise: bio-ontologies, semantic web technologies, data integration, bioinformatics
Vroselyn Benjamin
Staff Title: Research Project Manager
Email: vroselynb@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-4735

Caryn Best
Staff Title: Assistant to the Deputy Director
Email: caryn16@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9640

Chris Bizon
Staff Title: Senior Informatics Scientist
Email: bizon@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9600

Brian Blanton
Staff Title: Director of Environmental Initiatives
Email: bblanton@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9620

Expertise: oceanography, storm surge modeling, coastal issues
David Borland
Staff Title: Senior Visualization Researcher
Email: Borland@renci.org
Phone: 919-681-9624

Darius Bost
Staff Title: Graduate Student Intern, Biomedical Research

Academic Department: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Kira Bradford
Staff Title: Technical and Research Scientist
Email: kcbradford@renci.org

Chris Calloway
Staff Title: Applications Analyst
Email: cbc@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9591

Laura Capps
Staff Title: Contracts Specialist & Project Coordinator, iRODS Consortium
Email: lhill22@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9679

Dawn Carsey
Staff Title: Project Coordinator
Email: dcarsey@renci.org
Phone: 919-636-2050

Claris Castillo
Staff Title: Assistant Director of DevOps and Cloud Strategist at RENCI
Email: claris@renci.org

Biography
Mert Cevik
Staff Title: Sr Linux & Network Sys Admin
Email: mcevik@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9659

Steve Chall
Staff Title: Senior Research Software Developer
Email: stevec@renci.org
Phone: 919-681-9639

Laura Christopherson
Staff Title: Senior Data Scientist
Email: laura@renci.org

Alyson Cole
Staff Title: Administrative Specialist
Email: alycole12@renci.org

Jason Coposky
Staff Title: Executive Director, iRODS Consortium
Email: jasonc@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9675

Steven Cox
Staff Title: Data Science Architect
Email: scox@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9615

Sophia Dard
Staff Title: Student Intern, Cyberinfrastructure Development & Operations
Email: sofia@renci.org

Academic Department: Biomedical and Health Informatics
Sarah Davis
Staff Title: Project Manager
Email: sdavis@renci.org

Diptorup Deb
Staff Title: Doctoral Student Intern, High Performance Computing

Academic Department: Computer Science
Cole Dickens
Staff Title: Systems Specialist
Email: dickensc@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-0489

Xueli Fan
Staff Title: Thomas M. Carsey Fellow in Data Science
Email: xuelif@live.unc.edu

Dayne Filer
Staff Title: Graduate Student Intern, Biomedical Research

Academic Department: School of Medicine
Stephen Firrincieli
Staff Title: Student Intern, Informatics and Software Development

Academic Department: Computer Science
Rob Fowler
Staff Title: Director, High Performance Computing
Email: rjf@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9670

Biography
Expertise: high performance computing, HPC performance tools
Jaspreet Gill
Staff Title: Automation Engineer
Email: jkgill@renci.org

Zoey Greer
Staff Title: Systems Programmer/Specialist
Email: tempoz@renci.org
Phone: 703-853-3018

Yue Guo
Staff Title: Graduate Student Research Assistant, Office of the Director

Academic Department: Computer Science
Karl Gustafson
Staff Title: Project Manager
Email: kgustafs@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-0469

Julie Hayes
Staff Title: Administrative Assistant
Email: julieh@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9479

Bob Hoppe
Staff Title: Linux System Administrator
Email: rhoppe@renci.org
Phone: 9194452086

Bonnie Hurst
Staff Title: Senior Research Project Manager
Email: bonniep@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9644

Ray Idaszak
Staff Title: Director of DevOps
Email: rayi@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9671

Expertise: DevOps, software engineering management, open source.
Justin James
Staff Title: Senior Application Engineer
Email: jjames@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-4641

Clark Jeffries
Staff Title: Grid Developer - Bioinformatics
Email: clark_jeffries@med.unc.edu
Phone: 919-260-6576

Fan Jiang
Staff Title: Graduate Student Intern, Networking Research

Academic Department: School of Information and Library Science
Robert Jones
Staff Title: Systems Specialist
Email: rpjones@renci.org
Phone: 919-962-7095

Oleg Kapeljushnik
Staff Title: Software Developer
Email: oleg@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9637

Alan King
Staff Title: Software Developer
Email: alanking@renci.org

Ashok Krishnamurthy
Staff Title: Deputy Director
Email: ashok@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9643

Expertise: data science, biomedical informatics, machine learning, and cyberinfrastructure
Howard Lander
Staff Title: Senior Research Software Developer
Email: howard@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9651

Lance Leathers
Staff Title: Systems Specialist
Email: lancel@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-4836

Chris Lenhardt
Staff Title: Domain Scientist, Environmental Data Science and Systems
Email: clenhardt@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-0480

Rick Luettich
Staff Title: Chief Domain Scientist, Coastal Models
Email: rick_luettich@unc.edu
Phone: 919-445-9609

Expertise: coastal circulation, storm surge modeling
Huiying Ma
Staff Title: Student Intern

Anirban Mandal
Staff Title: Research Scientist
Email: anirban@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9662

Shannon McKeen
Staff Title: Corporate Business Development Manager
Email: sdmckeen@renci.org

Asia Mieczkowska
Staff Title: Strategic Program Coordinator
Email: jomiecz@renci.org

Ananya Mukherjee
Staff Title: Full-Stack Engineer
Email: ananyam@renci.org

Siddhartha Nambiar
Staff Title: Graduate Student Intern, Office of Engagement

Academic Department: Industrial and Systems Engineering, NC State University
Phil Owen
Staff Title: Research Software Architect
Email: powen@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9612

Samantha Petrie
Staff Title: Student Intern, Office of the Director

Academic Department: Computer Science
Patti Pittman
Staff Title: Administrative Support Specialist
Email: patti.pittman@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9640

Rachel Prasek
Staff Title: Human Resources Specialist
Email: rec06c@renci.org

Mahendra Rajarikam
Staff Title: Full-Stack Developer
Email: mrajarikam@renci.org

Arcot Rajasekar
Staff Title: Chief Domain Scientist, Data Grid Technologies
Email: sekar@renci.org

Expertise: data grid systems, data management
Swathi Reddy
Staff Title: DevOps Engineer
Email: swathireddy@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-4701

Jason Reilly
Staff Title: Senior Research Software Developer
Email: jdr0887@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9686

Kimberly Robasky
Staff Title: Senior Translational Research Scientist
Email: krobasky@renci.org

Terrell Russell
Staff Title: Chief Technologist, iRODS Consortium
Email: tgr@renci.org
Phone: 919-537-3839

Paul Ruth
Staff Title: Senior Distributed Systems Researcher
Email: pruth@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9666

Chris Rutledge
Staff Title: Linux Administrator
Email: crutledge@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9656

Erik Scott
Staff Title: Senior Research Software Developer
Email: escott@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9691

Expertise: Data Science and External Engagement
Lea Shanley
Staff Title: co-Executive Director, South Big Data Innovation Hub
Email: lshanley@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-0470

Biography
Expertise: geospatial information science, remote sensing, open innovation/crowdsourcing, environmental monitoring, and S&T policy
Michael Shoffner
Staff Title: Senior Research Software Architect
Email: shoffner@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9626

Expertise: Cybersecurity and privacy, medical informatics, data technologies, and software engineering.
Shalki Shrivastava
Staff Title: Research Software Developer
Email: spshriva@renci.org
Phone: 9194458977

Marcin Sliwowski
Staff Title: Cyberinfrastructure Manager/Lead Administrator
Email: marcin@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-0479

Expertise: high performance Linux systems, data technologies
Rachel Spahnn
Staff Title: Project Manager & Event Planner
Email: rspahnn@renci.org

Michael Stealey
Staff Title: Senior Research Software Developer
Email: stealey@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9653

Expertise: software development
Lisa Stillwell
Staff Title: Research Software Developer
Email: lisa@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9607

Expertise: data software development
Stephanie Suber
Staff Title: Interim Communications Lead
Email: subers@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9490

Komal Thareja
Staff Title: Distributed Systems Software Engineer
Email: kthare10@renci.org
Phone: 9194454661

Jeffrey Tilson
Staff Title: Senior Research Scientist
Email: jtilson@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9657

Biography
Expertise: parallel processing, parallel algorithms, computational chemistry, computational biology
Jordan Todd
Staff Title: Human Resources Consultant
Email: jltodd@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-1725

Rachel Townsley
Staff Title: Graduate Student Intern, Office of Engagement

Academic Department: Industrial and Systems Engineering, NC State University
Alex Tropsha
Staff Title: Chief Domain Scientist for Molecular Informatics
Email: alex_tropsha@unc.edu

Expertise: computational drug discovery, cheminformatics, computational toxicology, and structural bioinformatics
Cong Wang
Staff Title: Senior Computational and Network Researcher
Email: cwang@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-0269

Expertise: cloud computing; distributed systems; networking
Matt Watson
Staff Title: Web Architect
Email: mwatson@renci.org
Phone: 9194454715

Margie Wesley
Staff Title: Accountant
Email: mawesley@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9672

Kirk Wilhelmsen
Staff Title: Chief Domain Scientists, Genomics, and Director, Biomedical Research Initiatives
Email: kirk@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9619

Expertise: genomics, biostatistics, genomics in medicine
Yufeng Xin
Staff Title: Senior Network Research Engineer
Email: yxin@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9633

Expertise: network engineering
Eric Xin
Staff Title: Student Intern, Networking Research

Academic Department: Computer Science
Hong Yi
Staff Title: Senior Research Software Developer
Email: hongyi@renci.org
Phone: 919-445-9624

Expertise: scientific and information visualization